I have decided to understand the concepts of  house and  chapel through the eyes of Le Corbusier. My task was to fullfill the answer of ” What if Ronchamp Chapel by Le Corbusier was a house? Therefore I have chosen Villa Savoye by Le Corbusier as a starting point for the house. Comparing and seeing the differences and the similarities of different type of buildings of the same architect really helped and guided me for this exercise.

arch202_what-if_revise_ronchamp-chapelvilla-savoye_compare_merve-sanli

above is the Villa Savoye by Le Corbusier and below the Ronchamp Chapel. I tried to create pattern where the façade and the interior arrangement followed each other from different sides of the buildings. Noticing how they differ in terms of placement of elements naturally gave the answer of how they would be different. Therefore comparing another type of building by the same architect and adapting them to each other progressed this exercise for me.

