“Regulating Lines” another chapter from Le Corbusier’s “Towards A New Architecture”

“The regulating lines is a means to an end; it is not a recipe. Its choice and the modalities of expression given to it are an integral part of architectural creation. “

Well, I have to say that Le Corbusier’s language is a little bit hard to understand for now. Yet I am doing my best to reflect my opinions about his works in this book.Here it goes:

Architecture deals both with art and precision. Certain measurements cannot be neglected in order to produce a fine work. With the help of acccuracy one can be satisfied. Mathematical calculations and measures are the first conditions for an architect for regulating the work that is going to be made.

I have tested my skills on working with lines for orthographic projection drawing in Arch 111 class. I’ve seen the significance of precise measurement since otherwise the planes would interfere with each other and create a mess. Determining the reference lines was my first order and then I created grids for exact placing of the lines.

Measure: the extent, dimensions, quantity, etc., of something, ascertained especially by comparison with a standard

Scale: a series of marks laid down at determinate distances, as along a line,for purposes of measurement or computation

